Moving from Classic to New Google Sites
Updated: Jun 8
Starting on December 1, 2022, you will no longer be able to edit your classic Google Sites. This is because Google is converting everyone over to new Google Sites. Previously, Google had announced that this change would take place on December 1, 2021 and then June 1, 2022.
New Google Sites gives you more site tiles to choose from, allows you to add a Cloud Search box to your website, and automatically adapts your website to be mobile-friendly.
Here is the timeline of events:
December 1, 2022: You cannot edit classic Google Sites anymore
December 31, 2022: Existing classic Sites need to be migrated to new Sites by today
January 1, 2023: Remaining classic Google Sites will no longer be viewable
Before you panic, Google is not deleting your classic Google Sites on January 1, 2023. If you don't migrate your classic Sites to new Sites by January 1, Google will download your classic Sites as an archive and save it to the site owner's Google Drive. Google will also draft a new Site of your classic Site for site owners to review and publish.
While it is a relief to know your data will not be deleted, you should start thinking about moving over your classic Sites to new Sites soon so you can have plenty of time to edit your site throughout the second half of 2022 and have a viewable site on January 1, 2023.
To help you move from classic Sites to new Sites, use Classic Sites Manager. Classic Sites Manager gives you current information about your sites and can convert your classic Sites into new Sites one-at-a-time or in bulk. This Classic Sites Manager Google Support page walks you through how to use Classic Sites Manager to convert your sites to new Sites.
Before you start converting your Sites, please note that whoever converts the classic Sites into new Sites will become the owner of the newly converted Sites.
Blanca E. Duarte, Chief Enablement Officer, LogicWing