There is a new Google Drive security update that you may have seen a pop up notification for in your personal or work Drive account. The update affects documents you have shared through a link, where anyone can view the document if they have the link (not just the person you sent the link to). This is the option (shown below) that says “Anyone on the internet with this link can view” when you go to share a document with someone. This is also known as a “public” link.
While you may think these links are secure in that unless the person you shared the link with shares the link with someone else, no one can get into the document, there have been instances where unrelated anonymous people have gotten access to files by guessing the link. To combat the problem and make the links more secure, Google is adding a resource key to all shared links.
This means that some of the links you’ve shared with people that were “public” will now no longer...
Good news! When someone sends you a JPEG image through Gmail, you will now be able to save that image to Google Photos. Previously, you had to download the images and then manually upload them to Google Photos. At this time, this will only work with JPEG images.
The feature is shown below, with our very own, "Jeannie", who didn't mind being our model.
You’ll find the new “Save to Photos” button next to the “Download” and “Add to Drive” buttons when you hover over or click on the attachment.
And since organization skills are something that many of us need to work on, saving straight to Google Photos makes it easier for me to find the images I need when I need them. Google Photos is especially useful if I want to edit photos and share albums with others like those I create when...